Robinson Crusoe Audiobook Download Free

Robinson Crusoe is a novel by Daniel Defoe, first published on 25 April 1719. The first edition credited the work’s protagonist Robinson Crusoe as its author, leading many readers to believe he was a real person and the book a travelogue of true incidents.

Epistolary, confessional, and didactic in form, the book is presented as an autobiography of the title character (whose birth name is Robinson Kreutznaer) – a castaway who spends 28 years on a remote tropical desert island near the coasts of Venezuela and Trinidad (roughly resembling Tobago), encountering cannibals, captives, and mutineers, before ultimately being rescued. The story has been thought to be based on the life of Alexander Selkirk, a Scottish castaway who lived for four years on a Pacific island called “Más a Tierra”, now part of Chile, which was renamed Robinson Crusoe Island in 1966.

Despite its simple narrative style, Robinson Crusoe was well received in the literary world and is often credited as marking the beginning of realistic fiction as a literary genre. It is generally seen as a contender for the first English novel. Before the end of 1719, the book had already run through four editions, and it has gone on to become one of the most widely published books in history, spawning so many imitations, not only in literature but also in film, television, and radio, that its name is used to define a genre, the Robinsonade.

Chapter 1: Start in Life
Chapter 2: Slavery & Escape
Chapter 3a: Wrecked On a Desert Island, Part 1
Chapter 3b, Part 2
Chapter 4a: First Weeks On the Island, Part 1
Chapter 4b, Part 2
Chapter 5: Builds a House – The Journal
Chapter 6: Ill and Conscience-Stricken
Chapter 7: Agricultural Experience
Chapter 8: Surveys His Position
Chapter 9: A Boat 
Chapter 10: Tames Goats
Chapter 11: Finds Print of Man’s Foot on the Sand
Chapter 12: A Cave Retreat
Chapter 13: Wreck of a Spanish Ship
Chapter 14: A Dream Realized
Chapter 15: Friday’s Education
Chapter 16: Rescue of Prisoners From Cannibals
Chapter 17: Visit of Mutineers
Chapter 18: The Ship Recovered
Chapter 19: Return to England
Chapter 20: Fight Between Friday and a Bear
Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.